Rescue Me!


DSC_4138Hey everypawdy, Maxx here!  I keep walkin around singin that song “Rescue Me” and then I start reciting silly lines from Dr. Seuss books like “Sam I am…”  Why?  Cuz I have a new Frosty brudda who, WHAT?  Oh, sorry, my Mom, editor, tells me he is my FOSTER BROTHER.  Anyway, his name is Sam and he just got here last night.  This is me meeting Sam:

DSC_5446

So let me tell you a little about Sam.  He was picked up from a shelter by the great folks at Southern California Golden Retriever Rescue about a week ago.  My Dad volunteers for them so we heard about his situation.  Seems he was being dumped at the shelter on a black trash bag covered in his own poopy when WHAT?  No Mom, I draw the line there, that’s how I talk… Dogs say poopy, they don’t say “feces!”  Ok, well, excuse us… He was dirty.  Anyway, they were carrying him in like trash.  He was very sick and near death.  The shelter was just going to put him down.  Someone stepped in and called the rescue and they came and got him and took him to the Dogtor.  It was touch and go for a few days as his system was trying to shut down and nobody knew why.  They cleaned him up and finally realized he was dehydrated and starved.  After his initial bath he looked like this, poor guy.

After a few days in the pawspital alone, Mom felt bad that he was probably lonely, so she went to visit him.  He liked her very much.  He did not know really what a toy was so he ate the toy she brought right away.  Oh well, at least he enjoyed that.  Then Mom sang to him quietly until he settled and had a big smile and later a doggy dream.  She wondered when the last time was he had dreamed??

IMG_0072

IMG_0073

 

It was really hard for her to leave him, but she had done what she came to:  to show him pure love and that people could love him unconditionally.  The next day we got a call that he was ready to come home and they asked if he could come HERE since he seemed to like Mom!  Yippeeeee!  So here he is, in my house with ME, MAXX!  And ya know what?  We play and goof and run around.  He slept in my room last night and woke up in my bed this morning!  I don’t know who was more surprised, him or me??

DSC_5445

 

I don’t know what’s in store for Sam, but I do know one thing if my pawrents are involved… He will never be alone again.  He will never be forgotten, starved, neglected or mistreated. Sam will be spoiled on the highest level.  He will learn to be the DOG and enjoy life to the fullest and pawty with all of my FURiends and live a very large life.  Our only regret is for all of those non-descript pets out there.  The ones who are not the “chosen ones” like Golden Retrievers who are watched for and get rescued when dumped at the shelter.  Please remember to adopt pets when you are looking to add to your family and if you see something that looks like neglect, say something.  Not every dog gets as lucky as Sam.  In the meantime, please join us in welcoming this lucky boy with a resounding YAY SAM!

DSC_5453

About sitnstayglobal

Top Dog and CEO at Sit 'n Stay Global, LLC. Corporate Flight Attendant specializing in furbulous clients!
This entry was posted in Being the Dog, Paw it forward, Pet Health and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Rescue Me!

  1. Michele says:

    Wow Heartwrenching but happy story at the end. Thanks for rescuing that beautiful boy. He is adorable.

  2. Kristin says:

    Oh, my, many tears of sadness (dumping) and happiness (his winning the lottery to go to your house, Maxx). Wishing you all the best in health, the warmest of beds, the sweetest of dreams and the love of your lifetime. All hail Sam! Yay!

  3. elmosmom says:

    YAYYYY SAM! I am so sorry that you had the misfortune of people treating you like you nothing more than garbage. BUT, I’m super thrilled that you had the great fortune of being dumped in a place where someone was PAYING ATTENTION! Maybe Maxx would like a forever brother…? :-)

  4. nglgrl2005 says:

    Thank God for the angels among us. I am so happy that Sam is finally surrounded by love. You look after him now Maxx. My sister adopted a golden puppy then a few months later I did as well because we could tell Raimi needed a friend. The two of them are inseparable and my heart has never been fuller.

  5. Caju says:

    Dear Sam, when I look deep into your eyes, I can see your soul. Warrior on! xoxo Caju

  6. Kay Magruder says:

    Awwwwwww Carol….he’s beautiful! I remember seeing the post on FB describing what had happened to him. You guys rock!! He looks healthy and way happy :)))))

    On Thu, Jan 10, 2013 at 2:19 PM, SIT. STAY. FLY… <

  7. katie waterman says:

    Hey, Maxx and mom, thanks for showing Sam what being the dog is all about <3

  8. YAY Sam and Maxx! You are going to have so much fun, you won’t want to leave each other. Happy high five paws to both of you! xxx

Leave a Reply

