Keeping it FUN


Hey, Buddy here!  Hope you all are enjoying your summer.  The thing I love most about summer is swimming.  Man I LOVE swimming.  I love running and diving into a pool, the ocean, a lake or anything.  You name it, the bigger the splash the better.  And toys?  Bring ’em on!  I can go for hours chasing water toys or a tennis ball or even Mom’s pool float.  She’s not so wild about that last one, but dogs have to be creative sometimes.  Even though my energy isn’t what it used to be between turning 9 and having cancer, I can still rally for a big swim.

Last week when we went to the upside down pool where we go to cool off in our neighborhood, Mom and I met another dog there named Sysco.

Chillin'

Sysco is a cattle dog and he’s almost 16.  He had never been to the upside down pool and wasn’t too sure.  He can’t see too well and is deaf, but when he saw me he knew he wanted to be a part of it.  Sysco has arthritis so bad in his back legs that he pretty much hops on his front legs to walk, so he hopped on over and stood next to me with his feet in the water.  It was so cool I knew it right away, being a dog and all, but pretty soon my Mom figured it out too…  Sysco was getting to do something NEW again.  Sysco was going back to the days when he could swim!    I went over and stood under the fountain part where the water falls on your head and Sysco came too.  At first it startled him.  Then you could almost see him smile as his whole body got wet.  Slowly the tail that had been still for over 3 years according to his human wagged.  Slow, but it moved!  Then, he barked!!  She said she can’t remember the last time he barked.  I wanted to run around, but just stood there.  I knew something big was happening there and I was lucky to be a part of it,  Sysco was living again!!  I was so honored to be a part of it.

I think Mom learned a lot from it too.  This week she is staying with our good Chi friend Sam.  Sam is only 9, but has congestive heart failure and other problems with his heart so isn’t running around like he usually does.  At first Mom felt bad, but then she thought of Sysco…  She decided to keep it FUN for Sam and headed out to find a new kind of fun.  She sent me a picture of this cool toy that you stuff goodies inside and Sam doesn’t have to chase it but it’s like a puzzle and he works on it to get the treats out.  She fills it up a few times a day and they work on it and he has indoor fun rather than just lay around.  I think she is more confused by it than Sam, he’s pretty smart!

So remember us dogs are like people.  As we age or our physical condition changes we may not be able to do all the things we used to do, but our minds remember and sure do appreciate the effort if you try to “keep it fun” for us.  I think it keeps it fun for you too, judging from the grin on my Mom’s face!

About airPA

CEO of airPA. Corporate Flight Attendant, PA on the fly, In-Flight chef.
This entry was posted in Adventures in Pet Sitting, Pet Health and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Keeping it FUN

  1. Caju's mom says:

    I love this post, Buddy and Carol! You are absolutely right that dogs need challenges as do people–today Caju’s challenge was just getting around the block but he has other days where he figures out how to steal the froot loops from the little kids, etc. Well written…love it!

  2. Sher says:

    Thanks, Carol. Sysko enjoyed hearing about his 15 minutes of fame, and I’m grateful that my stepdaughter shared this experience with you all. You are good, kind spirits!

  3. Pingback: Christmas Presence II « SIT. STAY. FLY…

Leave a Reply

