Bucket Lists and Opera


So what other kind of flying do senior flight attendants do when they aren’t just packing on the hours? Believe it or not, after all of those years of travel we are adventure geeks at heart and love to explore. I finally decided to take some time and see the sights.

Upon recommendation, I chose to check out Prague next. I was embarrassingly ignorant of their culture and history so I was anxious to learn. I worked first class on the way over and met two absolutely delightful gentlemen who were seated directly across from my jumpseat. They were inclusive and friendly and made for a wonderful flight, but what struck me was how they seemed to relish every single detail. This was clearly not their first trip in first class, but they cherished every effort and nuance that made that cabin special completely. They studied maps, looked out the window and planned their trip. Their enjoyment was inspiring.

I thanked them before saying good bye, and told them what a joy it had been to serve them. As we talked, I learned that they were on a bucket list trip for one of them and having the time of their life. They shared that they would be attending the opera that night and I just squealed as I could think of nothing more sublime. The Prague State Opera was in a class with Milan’s Teatro alla Scala in stature. They certainly were doing things right! They asked me to meet them at the opera house and enjoy the evening. What a wonderful opportunity.

 

DSC_0069

 

The evening was magical. That was the kind of extraordinary experience we road warriors lived for. They met me in the vestibule and gave me one of the few tickets left to purchase and we agreed to meet up for champagne at intermission. Experiencing that grand presentation on my own was a gift because my focus was complete and I don’t think I missed a thing. Those gentlemen are the memories that make a career.

The next morning I was up early, armed with another great recommendation for my day. I got this one during the routine briefing for the trip. Those briefings are held in a room with a large white board that always has a few notes on the side to check out. Crews will write up new finds for restaurants, shops and sights within the day radius of our layover hotel. The tip I grabbed was to take the walking tour of Prague, and to use the company with the red umbrellas. The tips were usually a little vague like that, but that was part of the fun; scouting out the prize.

The tour was fabulous! I was hooked. What a great way to see a city. The pace was perfect to really see and examine the sights and the guide was very informative. I learned more history in one day with context than weeks of study could have achieved. We also stopped for local food and beverages and discussed local customs which is incredibly important to understand a place. A few sights that I might have missed or walked by without understanding still stick with me. Like the Jewish cemetery in the heart of town:

 

DSC_0095

 

The cemetery has a rich history, but the reason for today’s appearance is rooted largely in Jewish respect for the deceased and their unwillingness to more or disturb a grave. Over the years it was difficult for the Jewish population to secure more real estate to bury their loved ones, so they began layering the plot of ground they did have. The gravestones were moved to the top level to honor the deceased in the layers below, and a retaining wall was built to preserve the structure of this monument to perseverance to overcome adversity. Today there stands a cluster of headstones on a raised plot in the middle of town. You really can’t help but stop and listen to the voices preserved as you look up at this incongruent sight along the busy street.

The next sight that stayed with me involved looking down, and I might have simply walked over it and idly wondered why that design was on the street.

 

DSC_0080

 

These 27 crosses are inlaid on the street in the majestic Old Town square and represent the 27 Czech Nobleman who had been part of the War of 30 Years and fought against Fernando II who had them executed in the square. After the execution, 12 of the heads were placed in iron baskets and hung on the tower bridge for 10 years as a reminder of who was in power. I was grateful to understand the sacrifice in the history of this place and not just let myself get carried away with the beauty and splendor of the majestic square!

The architecture and the art throughout the city were spectacular. I was so glad to have enjoyed it by walking the town rather than driving through. It was also interesting to hear international perspectives on the sights in our small group of sightseers. Walking tours was definitely going to be my way to check out a new town whenever possible and I highly recommend it for seasoned travelers wishing to scratch more than the surface.

 

DSC_0098

 

DSC_0087

 

DSC_0073

Published by airPA

PA, Corporate Flight Attendant, Airstream Pilot (left seat.) DoG is my co-pilot. Just out here living the dream...

Leave a comment